Cornell 5 Niagara 3 (Saturday; final)

Started by Trotsky, November 26, 2005, 06:55:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Trotsky

Yep, the high stick stoppage occurs at the instant the puck strikes, so the goal would be disallowed.

Jordan 04

[Q]andyw2100 Wrote:

 The radio announcer made it sound like the Niagara player who may have deflected the third Cornell goal into the net was arguing that his own stick was too high, so that the goal should not have counted. Is that how the rule works? I mean, if Moulson takes a shot from the faceoff circle that hits an opposing player's stick held well above his waist (or whatever the designated point for a high-stick is) and the puck goes in the net, does that goal get waved off?

I know it does if the deflection is by the scoring team (NCAA semis--Buffalo, 2003, as a case in point), but if it's the opposing team's high stick?

Someone enlighten me please.
                                            Andy W.[/q]

My guess would be it doesn't matter where the opponent's stick is.

Just like it's not a disallowed goal if a player kicks it into his own net.

Edit:  I stand corrected.  But Trotsky, I thought the high-stick stoppage occurs once the puck is touched by a teammate.

dadeo

WELL - THATS --->IF<--- the scorer's stick is too high...
seeing as i was 8 rows behind the net that that goal was scored

DeltaOne81

Wait... no, high-sticking as a lines call, doesn't stop the play until someone on his team touches it next, like a hand pass.

(This is to distinguish from high-sticking as a penalty, which has nothing to do with the puck and everything to do with getting your stick in someone else's face, etc)

Trotsky

You're right, it is on the touch after.  So I have no idea whether the goal would count.  

Trotsky


Trotsky


DeltaOne81

[Q]Trotsky Wrote:

 You're right, it is on the touch after.  So I have no idea whether the goal would count.  [/q]

The goal would count, assuming it went straight from the stick into the net, since there was no touch. Or even if it went to an opponent's (i.e. the scoring team's) stick and it, that would nullify the high stick.

The only exceptiom I could see if it the goalie saved it and had decent control of it, and it was then tapped in. You could argue that the whistle should have been blown. But usually the whistle should have/shouldn't have been blown is a pointless argument. Whether is was or wasn't it all that matters.

Result: 3-1 Cornell ;)

Cactus12

Is there any kind of gametracker/audio besides all access?

profudge

15:10 -  left     now 14:59 - Cornell pressuring -   6-3  Princeton over Q  
- Lou (Swarthmore MotherPucker 69-74, Stowe Slugs78-82, Hanover Storm Kings 83-85...) Big Red Fan since the 70's

DeltaOne81

Been discussed. No free audio tonight. Niagara charges too (or do they not have any?)

Cactus12

thanks, i'll be relying on the forum updates, post-game analysis then

profudge

- Lou (Swarthmore MotherPucker 69-74, Stowe Slugs78-82, Hanover Storm Kings 83-85...) Big Red Fan since the 70's

Trotsky


Trotsky

Man, our announcer is just killing me.  It's like he's teaching himself hockey *as* he does play-by-play...