Other Regional Scores

Started by Beeeej, March 23, 2012, 03:31:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Trotsky

Quote from: jtn27
Quote from: snert1288And a mention of Joe Nieuwendyk and Cornell.  While discussing lacrosse Melrose states that Nieuwendyk went to Cornell because he wanted to play lacrosse.

I was just about to mention this. Does anyone know if it's true? Did Nieuwendyk play lax for Cornell?
He was considered a better lax player than hockey player when he was in high school.

marty

Is it my imagination or are the Mass Lowell uniforms almost as ugly as Clarkson's crayola boxes?::demented::
"When we came off, [Bitz] said, 'Thank God you scored that goal,'" Moulson said. "He would've killed me if I didn't."

css228

Quote from: nyc94
Quote from: jtn27
Quote from: BeeeejWith 1:18 left in the first, Michigan State has a puck in the net, but after a long video review, the refs declare that the net had conclusively already been dislodged.  No goal.

Union caught a break there. I thought that was a goal.

The net was barely dislodged, maybe an inch off the ice. I thought they might call high stick on the shot.
Agreed, I'm not sure if the rules pecify exactly what counts as dislodged, but that didn't seem it to me. If there ws nay reason to call it off it should have been a high stick.

Josh '99

I'm pretty sure Union winning an NCAA Tournament game is a sign of the impending apocalypse.
"They do all kind of just blend together into one giant dildo."
-Ben Rocky 04

kingpin248

Quote from: css228
Quote from: nyc94
Quote from: jtn27
Quote from: BeeeejWith 1:18 left in the first, Michigan State has a puck in the net, but after a long video review, the refs declare that the net had conclusively already been dislodged.  No goal.

Union caught a break there. I thought that was a goal.

The net was barely dislodged, maybe an inch off the ice. I thought they might call high stick on the shot.
Agreed, I'm not sure if the rules pecify exactly what counts as dislodged, but that didn't seem it to me. If there ws nay reason to call it off it should have been a high stick.
The CHN Twitter feed retweeted someone saying that any movement of the goal off the moorings means a goal is disallowed. Therefore, by the letter of the rule, the correct call was made. Rule 6, section 18 c:

A goal shall not be allowed in any of the following cases:
12. If the goal cage has been moved or dislodged. The goal frame is considered to be displaced if any portion of the goal frame is not in its proper position (e.g., frame must be completely flat on the ice surface, goal posts must be in proper place and affixed securely in place with its pegs).
Matt Carberry
my blog | The Z-Ratings (KRACH for other sports)

css228

Quote from: kingpin248
Quote from: css228
Quote from: nyc94
Quote from: jtn27
Quote from: BeeeejWith 1:18 left in the first, Michigan State has a puck in the net, but after a long video review, the refs declare that the net had conclusively already been dislodged.  No goal.

Union caught a break there. I thought that was a goal.

The net was barely dislodged, maybe an inch off the ice. I thought they might call high stick on the shot.
Agreed, I'm not sure if the rules pecify exactly what counts as dislodged, but that didn't seem it to me. If there ws nay reason to call it off it should have been a high stick.
The CHN Twitter feed retweeted someone saying that any movement of the goal off the moorings means a goal is disallowed. Therefore, by the letter of the rule, the correct call was made. Rule 6, section 18 c:

A goal shall not be allowed in any of the following cases:
12. If the goal cage has been moved or dislodged. The goal frame is considered to be displaced if any portion of the goal frame is not in its proper position (e.g., frame must be completely flat on the ice surface, goal posts must be in proper place and affixed securely in place with its pegs).
Yeah, but that leaves it open to all sorts of gamesmanship, aka the Osgood

RichH

Quote from: css228
Quote from: kingpin248
Quote from: css228
Quote from: nyc94
Quote from: jtn27
Quote from: BeeeejWith 1:18 left in the first, Michigan State has a puck in the net, but after a long video review, the refs declare that the net had conclusively already been dislodged.  No goal.

Union caught a break there. I thought that was a goal.

The net was barely dislodged, maybe an inch off the ice. I thought they might call high stick on the shot.
Agreed, I'm not sure if the rules pecify exactly what counts as dislodged, but that didn't seem it to me. If there ws nay reason to call it off it should have been a high stick.
The CHN Twitter feed retweeted someone saying that any movement of the goal off the moorings means a goal is disallowed. Therefore, by the letter of the rule, the correct call was made. Rule 6, section 18 c:

A goal shall not be allowed in any of the following cases:
12. If the goal cage has been moved or dislodged. The goal frame is considered to be displaced if any portion of the goal frame is not in its proper position (e.g., frame must be completely flat on the ice surface, goal posts must be in proper place and affixed securely in place with its pegs).
Yeah, but that leaves it open to all sorts of gamesmanship, aka the Osgood

The officials could call a "delay of game" penalty (or something similar) at their discretion if they think it's on purpose, I bet.

css228

Quote from: RichH
Quote from: css228
Quote from: kingpin248
Quote from: css228
Quote from: nyc94
Quote from: jtn27
Quote from: BeeeejWith 1:18 left in the first, Michigan State has a puck in the net, but after a long video review, the refs declare that the net had conclusively already been dislodged.  No goal.

Union caught a break there. I thought that was a goal.

The net was barely dislodged, maybe an inch off the ice. I thought they might call high stick on the shot.
Agreed, I'm not sure if the rules pecify exactly what counts as dislodged, but that didn't seem it to me. If there ws nay reason to call it off it should have been a high stick.
The CHN Twitter feed retweeted someone saying that any movement of the goal off the moorings means a goal is disallowed. Therefore, by the letter of the rule, the correct call was made. Rule 6, section 18 c:

A goal shall not be allowed in any of the following cases:
12. If the goal cage has been moved or dislodged. The goal frame is considered to be displaced if any portion of the goal frame is not in its proper position (e.g., frame must be completely flat on the ice surface, goal posts must be in proper place and affixed securely in place with its pegs).
Yeah, but that leaves it open to all sorts of gamesmanship, aka the Osgood

The officials could call a "delay of game" penalty (or something similar) at their discretion if they think it's on purpose, I bet.
True, but they should also have the discretion to allow a goal in that case. Either way, I don't know why I'm complaining since I thought it was a high stick.

Trotsky

Quote from: Josh '99I'm pretty sure Union winning an NCAA Tournament game is a sign of the impending apocalypse.
IIRC they won a D3 title.  I wonder how many teams have won NCAA games at multiple levels.  (Bemidji is another.)

French Rage

Quote from: Josh '99I'm pretty sure Union winning an NCAA Tournament game is a sign of the impending apocalypse.

What's next, Ferris and Lowell winning?
03/23/02: Maine 4, Harvard 3
03/28/03: BU 6, Harvard 4
03/26/04: Maine 5, Harvard 4
03/26/05: UNH 3, Harvard 2
03/25/06: Maine 6, Harvard 1

jtwcornell91

Quote from: Trotsky
Quote from: Josh '99I'm pretty sure Union winning an NCAA Tournament game is a sign of the impending apocalypse.
IIRC they won a D3 title.  I wonder how many teams have won NCAA games at multiple levels.  (Bemidji is another.)

And RIT.

marty

Quote from: Trotsky
Quote from: Josh '99I'm pretty sure Union winning an NCAA Tournament game is a sign of the impending apocalypse.
IIRC they won a D3 title.  I wonder how many teams have won NCAA games at multiple levels.  (Bemidji is another.)

I was checking out their hardware two weeks ago and saw a second place trophy but not the championship.
"When we came off, [Bitz] said, 'Thank God you scored that goal,'" Moulson said. "He would've killed me if I didn't."

releck97

Miami was down 3-0.  Now 3-3 with 10 minutes to go!  Great game...

Greenberg '97

Quote from: releck97Miami was down 3-0.  Now 3-3 with 10 minutes to go!  Great game...

Except the part about it pre-empting Cornell.

profudge

- Lou (Swarthmore MotherPucker 69-74, Stowe Slugs78-82, Hanover Storm Kings 83-85...) Big Red Fan since the 70's