Cornell 5 Niagara 4 (final)

Started by Trotsky, November 25, 2005, 06:44:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jordan 04

[Q]ithacat Wrote:

 [Q2]ben03 Wrote:

 ast. ref blew the call, icing was whistled and game should end 5-4[/Q]
Can you explain to our elynah audience? How can a puck that goes into the net be whistled for icing?

[/q]

Cornell cleared the puck with about 5 seconds left, killing the penalty, and the 6x4.

Linesman inadvertently whistled icing on the Cornell clear.  So they had a faceoff in the Niagara end.

DeltaOne81

A stupid mistake, that's all - that's why the ensuring face off was in the Niagara end. If you're looking for more of a reason, I think the only answer is 'brain fart'.

cbuckser

It couldn't have been an erroneous icing call.  If the AR wrongly blows the play dead for icing, the ensuing faceoff takes place at center ice.

Also, the puck didn't go into the net.
Craig Buckser '94

ithacat

[Q]cbuckser Wrote:

Also, the puck didn't go into the net.[/q]

Thanks. I guess that would make a difference. :-)

Jordan 04

[Q]cbuckser Wrote:

 It couldn't have been an erroneous icing call.  If the AR wrongly blows the play dead for icing, the ensuing faceoff takes place at center ice.

Also, the puck didn't go into the net.[/q]

Then Murphy got it wrong.  Watching the play, I can't imagine it was anything other than an erroneous icing call.

jtwcornell91

[Q]Jordan 04 Wrote:

 [Q2]cbuckser Wrote:

 It couldn't have been an erroneous icing call.  If the AR wrongly blows the play dead for icing, the ensuing faceoff takes place at center ice.

Also, the puck didn't go into the net.[/Q]
Then Murphy got it wrong.  Watching the play, I can't imagine it was anything other than an erroneous icing call.
[/q]

Same here.  I noted that the faceoff was in the wrong place, so both the linesman and Murphy got it wrong.  But given that the game would have been over without the errant whistle, I was happy to see the FO somewhere that ensured the game would end 5-4.

Brian

[Q]jtwcornell91 Wrote:

 [Q2]Jordan 04 Wrote:

 [Q2]cbuckser Wrote:

 It couldn't have been an erroneous icing call.  If the AR wrongly blows the play dead for icing, the ensuing faceoff takes place at center ice.

Also, the puck didn't go into the net.[/Q]
Then Murphy got it wrong.  Watching the play, I can't imagine it was anything other than an erroneous icing call.
[/Q]
Same here.  I noted that the faceoff was in the wrong place, so both the linesman and Murphy got it wrong.  But given that the game would have been over without the errant whistle, I was happy to see the FO somewhere that ensured the game would end 5-4.[/q]

Immediately after they blew play dead you could see the ref apologizing to coach who was irrate at this point.  Therefore, due to there being an inadvertent whistle, play started where the play ended.

RichH

[Q]Brian Wrote:

Immediately after they blew play dead you could see the ref apologizing to coach who was irrate at this point.  Therefore, due to there being an inadvertent whistle, play started where the play ended.[/q]

The generally accepted rule is that with an erroneous stoppage of play, the faceoff goes to center ice.  I looked up the official wording:
http://www.ncaa.org/library/rules/2006/2006_m_w_ice_hockey_rules.pdf[Q]Rule 6, Section 27f.
 If the officials err in calling an icing-the-puck infraction (regardless of whether either team is short-handed), the puck shall be faced off at the center ice face-off spot unless, in the opinion of the referee, the center ice face-off unduly penalizes either team. (See 6-15-n.)[/Q]
[Q]Rule 6, Section 15n.
If an on-ice official mistakenly stops play, the face-off shall be at center ice unless, in the opinion of the official, the center ice face-off would unduly penalize either team.[/Q]
So one could reasonably say that in Murphy's opinion, given the game clock, taking the face-off to center ice would unduly penalize Cornell, who did the right thing in sending the puck to the far boards.

Al DeFlorio

[Q]RichH Wrote:

I looked up the official wording:
[Q2]Rule 6, Section 27f.
 If the officials err in calling an icing-the-puck infraction (regardless of whether either team is short-handed), the puck shall be faced off at the center ice face-off spot unless, in the opinion of the referee, the center ice face-off unduly penalizes either team. (See 6-15-n.)[/Q]
[/q]
Seems that Murphy got this one right.

Al DeFlorio '65