Nieuwendyk

Started by jy3, May 10, 2003, 08:30:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Greg Berge

[q]he actually was credited with a win without throwing a single pitch[/q]

I wonder if we can do even better.  Let's say bottom of the ninth, Visitor leads 3-2, Home has bases loaded with one out.  Home hits sac fly to CF scoring the tying run, then scores the winning run when the throw gets away from the catcher.

However, Visitor maintains that the runner on third tagged too soon.  Just to be remembered forever, Visitor's manager replaces his pitcher.  New Pitcher throws to 3b where the runner is called out, ending the game.

Does New Pitcher get credit for an appearance and a save?  ;-)

ugarte

QuoteGreg wrote:

[q]he actually was credited with a win without throwing a single pitch[/q]

Does New Pitcher get credit for an appearance and a save?  ;-)
Depends on whether the change of pitchers, like throwing a pitch, waives the appeal.


adamw

Greg is half right on the answer.  For some reason, what he says is correct for batters ... but for pitchers, it's determined by whether it's a "hitter's count" or "pitcher's count" at the time of entry.

For example, a 2-1 count to the batter - the new batter takes over and strikes out.  Strike out goes to the first batter.  2-1, 1-1, 3-1, 2-2, 1-2, 3-2 -- doesn't matter.  So long as there's already one strike to the batter, the new batter can't be charged with a strikeout.

But the reverse is not true.  If a pitcher enters with the count 1-2, and walks the batter ... the original pitcher is not charged with the walk just because one ball has been issued.  It goes to the new pitcher because the count was in his favor when he entered.
College Hockey News: http://www.collegehockeynews.com

Greg Berge

Nieuwy update: wity 3 mins to go in regulation and game 7 tied 2-2, Joe is still out.  He started tonight but left after 2 mins with back spasms and is not expected back.

Greg Berge

Friesen scores with 2:14 remaining, 3-2 NJ.

Keith K \'93

Adam, this part of rule 10.17 seems to argue against your interpretation:
[Q](b) When the batter leaves the game with two strikes against him, and the substitute batter completes a strikeout, charge the strikeout and the time at bat to the first batter. If the substitute batter completes the turn at bat in any other manner, including a base on balls, score the action as having been that of the substitute batter. [/Q]
I interpret this to mean that the first batter only is given the strikeout (rather than the pinch hitter) if he leaves after two strikes.

adamw

Keith, I think you're right.  Just 2 strikes - not 1 or 2.  Still strange that the batters are handled in a different manner than the pitchers - but that's the rule.
College Hockey News: http://www.collegehockeynews.com

mike

his return doubtfull for tonights game


Greg Berge

As of June 4, what is the extent of Joe's injury?  Has he been scratched from the whole final, is he a long shot, is hye day-to-day, are the Devils not talking at all?



Post Edited (06-04-03 16:25)

Al DeFlorio

QuoteGreg wrote:

As of June 4, what is the extent of Joe's injury?  Has he been scratched from the whole final, is he a long shot, is hye day-to-day, are the Devils not talking at all?
Post Edited (06-04-03 16:25)
In today's NY Times it was said Joe might practice today (Wednesday) and play tomorrow night.  Pat Burns was quoted saying Joe was the Devils' best player in the Ottawa series.  He sure would help with faceoffs.

http://www.nytimes.com/2003/06/04/sports/hockey/04devils.html

Al DeFlorio '65

Greg Berge


Rich Stamboulian

Here's the Record's report:

http://www.bergen.com/page.php?qstr=eXJpcnk3ZjczN2Y3dnFlZUVFeXkxMzMmZmdiZWw3Zjd2cWVlRUV5eTYzODcwNTEmeXJpcnk3ZjcxN2Y3dnFlZUVFeXk2

That's the most optimistic comment since he went down.   He skated yesterday....Tuesday.   Not surprisingly for the Finals, the Devils perhaps concealed the nature of his injury....groin rather than hip.

Al DeFlorio

Al DeFlorio '65