UNH 12/28

Started by Trotsky, December 19, 2013, 01:15:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

upprdeck

why wasnt the 2nd UNH goal an icing call?

billhoward

Apparently a 4-2 win for Cornell. Communications are out. Maybe a telegram will arrive in Ithaca and Western Union will have something for us early Sunday.

[edit add] Owing to mixed video and audio webcasts, and no live gamestats, we missed a bit of the action. Didn't realise Andy Iles posted 44 saves, 14 of them on penalty kill. That was in the box score and more: Cornell and UNH were pretty even on penalties, 12 for Cornell (no UNH PPGs) vs. 10 mins called against UNH (1 Cornell PPG on 4 shots). Cornell didn't get whistled in the second half of the game except a matching minors call. All this against a team that falls below .500 with this loss.

Let's hope for a good game Saturday vs. Maine. We need the win, we need the quality win.

Jim Hyla

OK, so the final was 4-2 CU. Maine tomorrow. And guys, a lot of us were on chat tonight. Come on over tomorrow.
"Cornell Fans Made the Timbers Tremble", Boston Globe, March/1970
Cornell lawyers stopped the candy throwing. Jan/2005

David Harding

Quote from: upprdeckwhy wasn't the 2nd UNH goal an icing call?
I didn't see it, so I don't know exactly what happened, but in general it's not icing if the puck goes directly into the goal.  See, for example, Gillam's goal against Niagara.  The rule on icing says
QuoteIf the puck enters the goal of the opposing team,after being legally shot, batted with the stick or deflected, the goal shall be allowed.
, though that line is buried in the section on the faceoff location.

marty

Quote from: David Harding
Quote from: upprdeckwhy wasn't the 2nd UNH goal an icing call?
I didn't see it, so I don't know exactly what happened, but in general it's not icing if the puck goes directly into the goal.  See, for example, Gillam's goal against Niagara.  The rule on icing says
QuoteIf the puck enters the goal of the opposing team,after being legally shot, batted with the stick or deflected, the goal shall be allowed.
, though that line is buried in the section on the faceoff location.

I always thought the crease was the determining factor. Can the puck be considered iced if it passes through the crease without touching the goalie, his equipment nor the net or the posts?

In this case it surely isn't icing because it was on net.
"When we came off, [Bitz] said, 'Thank God you scored that goal,'" Moulson said. "He would've killed me if I didn't."

upprdeck

from the first replay i thought it went off the back wall and off the goalie.. but i didnt slow it down well enough to really tell. if it went straight in then i understand the call.

jkahn

With the exception of when our first line was on the ice, play seemed to be constantly in our defensive zone.  Andy held us in there, despite the one bad hop goal that he would stop 99% of the time.  Others I thought had strong games were Ryan, McDonald (who was more aggressive offensively than I've seen) and Freschi (although -1 for the night it was the goal that Andy would want back).
Jeff (from rainy Estero)
Jeff Kahn '70 '72

cbuckser

Here are the game articles from the Naples Daily News and the Fort Myers News-Press. I especially liked Mike Schafer's quote in the News-Press article about the team's slow start:
QuoteOhhhhh, we were somewhere between Charlotte and Philadelphia still. Those first six, seven minutes, they were on the power play, they came out flying and we didn't handle it very well.
Craig Buckser '94

David Harding

Quote from: marty
Quote from: David Harding
Quote from: upprdeckwhy wasn't the 2nd UNH goal an icing call?
I didn't see it, so I don't know exactly what happened, but in general it's not icing if the puck goes directly into the goal.  See, for example, Gillam's goal against Niagara.  The rule on icing says
QuoteIf the puck enters the goal of the opposing team,after being legally shot, batted with the stick or deflected, the goal shall be allowed.
, though that line is buried in the section on the faceoff location.

I always thought the crease was the determining factor. Can the puck be considered iced if it passes through the crease without touching the goalie, his equipment nor the net or the posts?

In this case it surely isn't icing because it was on net.
The crease doesn't matter.  If anyone touches it before it crosses the goal line, it's not icing.  If it crosses the goal line outside the net, it's icing.  If it crosses the goal line between the posts, it's a goal.  There are complications based on what players from both teams (including the goalie) do or could do.  

Here's the whole NCAA rule:
QuoteRule 85 - Icing
85.1 Icing - For the purpose of this rule, the center line will divide the ice into
halves. Should any player of a team, equal or superior in numerical strength
to the opposing team, shoot, bat with the hand or stick, kick or deflect the
puck from his own half of the ice, beyond the goal line of the opposing
team, play shall be stopped.
For the purpose of this rule, the point of last contact with the puck by the
team in possession shall be used to determine whether icing has occurred.
For the purpose of interpretation of this rule, icing is completed the
instant the puck crosses the goal line, unless an attacking player, who is
onside at the blue line and with no opponent between that player and the
goal line and is clearly in position to be the first player to touch the puck.
Icing shall not be called in this situation. This decision by the official shall
be made no later than the first player reaching the end zone face-off dots. If
the puck enters the goal in this situation icing shall not be called and a goal
shall be awarded.
Notwithstanding the provisions of this section concerning batting the
puck in respect to the icing rule, the provisions in Rule 71 apply and no goal
may be scored by batting the puck with the hand into the opponent's goal.
If, while the official has signaled a slow whistle for a clean interception
under Rule 86 (offsides), the player intercepting shoots or bats the puck
beyond the opponent's goal line in such a manner as to constitute icing, the
official's delayed whistle shall end the instant the puck crosses the blue line
and icing shall be called in the usual manner.
85.2 Faceoff Location - The puck shall be faced off at the end-zone faceoff
spot of the offending team. If the puck enters the goal of the opposing team,
after being legally shot, batted with the stick or deflected, the goal shall be
allowed.
If, during a delayed penalty, the non-offending team ices the puck, the
ensuing faceoff shall take place in the penalized team's defensive zone.
If the officials err in calling an icing-the-puck infraction (regardless of
whether either team is short-handed), the puck shall be faced off at the
center ice faceoff spot unless, in the opinion of the referee, the center ice
faceoff unduly penalizes either team. (See 81.2)
85.3 Goalkeeper - Should the opposing goalkeeper leave the crease and fake/
feign playing the puck during a potential icing situation, icing shall not be
called and play shall continue.
Note: The purpose of this section is to enforce continuous action and the
on-ice officials should interpret and apply the rule to produce this result.

85.4 Change of Players on Icing - A team that is in violation of this rule shall
not be permitted to make any player substitutions before the next faceoff.
A team will be permitted to use its timeout for rules that do not allow a
substitution of players. The team that is prevented by rule from substituting
its players must call the timeout to be allowed to change.
A team shall be permitted to make a player substitution to replace a
goalkeeper who had been substituted for an extra attacker, to replace an
injured player, or when a penalty is assessed that affects the on-ice strength
of either team.
85.5 No Icing - When the puck is shot and rebounds from the body or stick of an
opponent in his or her own half of the ice so as to cross the goal line of the
player shooting it, icing shall not be called.
If the puck touches any part of a player of the opposing team or his skates
or his stick before it reaches the goal line, or touches the goalkeeper or his
skates or his stick at any time before crossing his goal line, it shall not be
considered a violation of this rule and play shall continue.
If the puck is propelled directly from either of the players while facing
off, it shall not be considered a violation of this rule.
If, in the opinion of the calling official, a player of the opposing team
except the goalkeeper is able to play the puck before it passes the goal line,
but has not done so, icing shall not be called and play shall continue.
85.6 Numerical Strength - If the puck was so shot by a player of a team below
the numerical on-ice strength of the opposing team, play shall continue and
the faceoff shall not take place.
Note: In exhibition contests, this exception shall not be in effect.
When a team is shorthanded as the result of a penalty and the penalty is
about to expire, the decision as to whether there has been an icing infraction
shall be determined at the instant the penalty expires, and if the puck is
shot before the penalty expires, icing shall not be called. The action of the
penalized player remaining in the penalty bench will not alter the ruling.

marty

"When we came off, [Bitz] said, 'Thank God you scored that goal,'" Moulson said. "He would've killed me if I didn't."