Second ND Game Thread

Started by Jim Hyla, January 07, 2022, 10:41:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Weder

Quote from: djk26
Quote from: TrotskyKey to the whole thing was Shane's stop on the penalty shot.

I knew there was a penalty shot in a game this year--so this is as good a place as any to post the question--certainly not worth a new thread.

What happens if a skater is taken down by the opposition while skating to an empty net with the puck?  (Of course if you've got the puck and a empty net just shoot it from center ice or something, but I think it could happen that a skater is taken down while skating towards an empty net.)  Is there a "penalty shot" on an empty net, or is a goal automatically awarded?

That's an automatic goal.
3/8/96

RichH

Quote from: djk26
Quote from: TrotskyKey to the whole thing was Shane's stop on the penalty shot.

I knew there was a penalty shot in a game this year--so this is as good a place as any to post the question--certainly not worth a new thread.

What happens if a skater is taken down by the opposition while skating to an empty net with the puck?  (Of course if you've got the puck and a empty net just shoot it from center ice or something, but I think it could happen that a skater is taken down while skating towards an empty net.)  Is there a "penalty shot" on an empty net, or is a goal automatically awarded?

The NHL rulebook:

" Rule 25 – Awarded Goals
25.1 Awarded Goal – A goal will be awarded to the attacking team when the opposing team has taken their goalkeeper off the ice and an attacking player has possession and control of the puck (or would have gained possession and control) in the neutral or attacking zone, without a defending player between himself and the opposing goal, and he is prevented from scoring as a result of an infraction committed by the defending team"

I leave looking at the NCAA rulebook to someone else right now, but I doubt it would be different.

Give My Regards

Quote from: RichH
Quote from: djk26I knew there was a penalty shot in a game this year--so this is as good a place as any to post the question--certainly not worth a new thread.

What happens if a skater is taken down by the opposition while skating to an empty net with the puck?  (Of course if you've got the puck and a empty net just shoot it from center ice or something, but I think it could happen that a skater is taken down while skating towards an empty net.)  Is there a "penalty shot" on an empty net, or is a goal automatically awarded?

The NHL rulebook:

" Rule 25 – Awarded Goals
25.1 Awarded Goal – A goal will be awarded to the attacking team when the opposing team has taken their goalkeeper off the ice and an attacking player has possession and control of the puck (or would have gained possession and control) in the neutral or attacking zone, without a defending player between himself and the opposing goal, and he is prevented from scoring as a result of an infraction committed by the defending team"

I leave looking at the NCAA rulebook to someone else right now, but I doubt it would be different.

It appears that it is.  Under Rule 25 - Penalty Shot/Optional Minor Penalty, in section 3, there's this:

"If, at the time a penalty shot is awarded, the goalkeeper of the penalized
team has been removed from the ice to substitute another player, the
goalkeeper shall be permitted to return to the ice before the penalty shot
is taken."

Here's a link.  It's on page 36.

Somewhere, Providence's Randy Wilson is saying, "I KNEW a shot on an empty net isn't an automatic goal!"
If you lead a good life, go to Sunday school and church, and say your prayers every night, when you die, you'll go to LYNAH!

RichH

Quote from: Give My Regards
Quote from: RichH
Quote from: djk26I knew there was a penalty shot in a game this year--so this is as good a place as any to post the question--certainly not worth a new thread.

What happens if a skater is taken down by the opposition while skating to an empty net with the puck?  (Of course if you've got the puck and a empty net just shoot it from center ice or something, but I think it could happen that a skater is taken down while skating towards an empty net.)  Is there a "penalty shot" on an empty net, or is a goal automatically awarded?

The NHL rulebook:

" Rule 25 – Awarded Goals
25.1 Awarded Goal – A goal will be awarded to the attacking team when the opposing team has taken their goalkeeper off the ice and an attacking player has possession and control of the puck (or would have gained possession and control) in the neutral or attacking zone, without a defending player between himself and the opposing goal, and he is prevented from scoring as a result of an infraction committed by the defending team"

I leave looking at the NCAA rulebook to someone else right now, but I doubt it would be different.

It appears that it is.  Under Rule 25 - Penalty Shot/Optional Minor Penalty, in section 3, there's this:

"If, at the time a penalty shot is awarded, the goalkeeper of the penalized
team has been removed from the ice to substitute another player, the
goalkeeper shall be permitted to return to the ice before the penalty shot
is taken."

Here's a link.  It's on page 36.

Somewhere, Providence's Randy Wilson is saying, "I KNEW a shot on an empty net isn't an automatic goal!"

That same wording appears in the NHL rulebook (Rule 25.2).  I think that applies to a situation where a penalty shot is called, but the goalkeeper had left the ice so the team awarded a penalty shot can't argue that the goaltender shouldn't be out to defend. The key is any penalty shot, as there are other situations where a penalty shot may be awarded (e.g. covering the puck in the crease).

NCAA rulebook Rule 61 (page 56):
"If, when the opposing goalkeeper has been removed from the ice, a player in control of the puck in the neutral or attacking zone is tripped or otherwise fouled with no opposition between him and the opposing goal, thus preventing an obvious and imminent goal, the referee shall immediately stop play and award a goal to the attacking team.
Note: "Control of the puck" is defined as the act of propelling the puck with the stick, hand or skate. If, while it is being propelled, the puck is touched by another player or that player's equipment, hits the goal or goes free, the player shall not be considered in control of the puck (see 87.1)."

A penalty shot has NOT been awarded (a goal has) so the wording of Rule 25 isn't applicable.