ELynah Forum

General Category => Hockey => Topic started by: Cornell11 on November 21, 2008, 11:56:19 AM

Title: Scrivens' WWE move
Post by: Cornell11 on November 21, 2008, 11:56:19 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4t-kWLMmuRA

this may already have been posted, but in case it hasn't, watch this video of Colgate's goalie interference penalty from last Thursday's contest. Incredibly head-y play by Scrivens
Title: Re: Scrivens' WWE move
Post by: ebilmes on November 21, 2008, 12:38:39 PM
Wow, I had no idea what happened on that play.

I wonder why no Cornell players bothered to try and move that guy.
Title: Re: Scrivens' WWE move
Post by: andyw2100 on November 21, 2008, 12:43:00 PM
I was at the game, but had TiVoed the broadcast, and was pretty amused when I watched it. I was actually surprised that the ref called both penalties. I think he easily could have called a penalty on Scrivens only. Which makes me wonder why you think this was a heady-y play by Scrivens. He may (or should) have been getting the goaltender-interference call anyway.
Title: Re: Scrivens' WWE move
Post by: Give My Regards on November 21, 2008, 12:55:20 PM
[quote andyw2100]Which makes me wonder why you think this was a heady-y play by Scrivens.[/quote]

I'm 99 44/100ths percent sure it's a pun.  So if Scrivens had instead punched the guy in the stomach, it would have been a "gut-sy" play...

The Colgate guy was backing into Scrivens in the crease, so that was the goaltender interference.  Or maybe the referee figured something had to have happened to set Scrivens off, because no goaltender (aside from Leeor Shtrom) is THAT nuts...
Title: Re: Scrivens' WWE move
Post by: LaJollaRed on November 22, 2008, 04:14:28 PM
I don't know...Remember two years ago, when Scrivens skated out to the boards near the top of the circle to check a guy?
Title: Re: Scrivens' WWE move
Post by: lynah80 on November 22, 2008, 11:29:08 PM
From the NCAA Ice Hockey Rule Book:


Rule 6, Section 6:
A player shall not charge or otherwise foul a goalkeeper while the
goalkeeper is within the crease or privileged area (see 6-19-b-2-g).


The 2 minutes on Peter Bogdanich were appropriate, because he made first contact in the crease.