Updates automatically
Twitter Link
CHN iOS App

NCAA
1967 1970

ECAC
1967 1968 1969 1970 1973 1980 1986 1996 1997 2003 2005 2010

IVY
1966 1967 1968 1969 1970 1971 1972 1973 1977 1978 1983 1984 1985 1996 1997 2002 2003 2004 2005 2012 2014

Cleary Spittoon
2002 2003 2005

Ned Harkness Cup
2003 2005 2008 2013

Brendon
Iles
Pokulok
Schafer
Syphilis

Any Ideas for the Proposed Development In Ithaca

Posted by likeshockey 
Any Ideas for the Proposed Development In Ithaca
Posted by: likeshockey (---.dyn.optonline.net)
Date: February 03, 2007 01:13PM

I am a graduate student in NYU's Real Estate Institute. In my Development Process course, my group is assigned a feasibility study of Southwest Area development site.

The City seeks to convert the vacant site into a vibrant, mixed-income urban neighborhood with as many as 600 housing units and compatible uses. The development site is situated in the southwest portion of Ithaca, contiguous to the 61-acre Southwest Natural Area and within walking distance of shopping, Buttermilk Falls State Park, and the Cayuga Inlet, which is heavily used for non-motorized boating. Ithaca, home to Cornell University and Ithaca College, is in Tompkins County, which enjoys the strongest economy in upstate New York.

As a student, I did not go into the city of Ithaca often. In fact, I think I can count the number of times on my hand. I have not been to the school in a number of years. So I don't know what the living and working atmosphere is like downtown. I am trying to understand where the people will be coming from to live in this new housing. I read that the growth will come from 45-54 age group. Are these professors retiring or alumni coming back to area? Would they really want to live in this area? Also, besides the universities where are the employment opportunities in the area? With all the new buildings on campus, does anyone know if high technology companies are planning on locating near the university?